Books

I love books; they are my favorite possessions.  I don’t know that I could ever stand to use a Kindle because I love books too much: the way they look and feel – the typefaces, the cover art, the varied sizes and weights.  I have a lot of books.  Not enough to say I have my own personal library, but I’m on my way.

I have two bookcases, but those became too crowded as I acquired more books, so I nailed a couple of shelves on the wall to handle the overflow; except now those are nearly full.

I decided to photograph these books because I realized that I spend a lot of time looking at them.  As I obtain more books I arrange them in different ways, sometimes by author, other times by theme, other times by size (grouping the large books and the small books), some books I group by the author’s nationality, some by where I was in my life when I read them.  I admit I can get obsessive about it.

I remember a quote about music lovers from the movie Almost Famous – “If you ever get lonely, just go to the record store and see your friends.”  I know it makes me sound like a loner, but I think I like staring at my books, and arranging them, and having them around me because they are sort of like my friends.  At the very least they are good company.

This entry was posted in Black & White and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books

  1. Susan says:

    I love books too! And love what they do for a room. But I have to admit I have succumb to the electronic age…….or I would be overrun with books.

  2. Matt says:

    The coolest bookcase I’ve ever seen was really tall and had really narrow shelves, with a book laid out as the base of each shelf. Of course, those were the books that weren’t really all that interesting.

Leave a Reply

