England

Two years ago I was getting ready to head out to England.  Sometimes I get wistful about that trip but especially now as I remember what it felt like two years ago to be on the brink of such a great adventure.  So I’m posting a few photos here to wallow a little more in the nostalgia.

Doorway in Old Town Edinburgh.  Thole means to persist or endure.

Sheep below Sty Head Pass.  At Sty Head we encountered the full force of English weather.  As we ascended the mountain, visibility dropped to about 10 feet and the wind blew the rain sideways.

Lake District scenery.

A brief glimpse of sunshine descending the slopes of Helvellyn.

Wheat field in the Midlands.

View of The Needles from Western edge of Tennyson Down on the Isle of Wight.

Flowering Tree at the Brecon Beacons in Cymru (Wales).

The Tube in London.

The fields of Culmstock in Southwestern England.  The land of my ancestors.

This entry was posted in Landscape and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to England

  1. James says:

    Very nice.
    Photo number one makes me think of Hogwarts for some reason.

    The name Sty Head is intriguing enough to have caused me to look it up. Which was well worth the effort, since it took me to this:
    “It is said this area is haunted by a ghoulish apparition without a visible head. Many local people have reported sightings of a strange man walking down the road with a bag moving “as if it contained cats”.

    It always comes back to cats. Thompson and otherwise.

    I would very much like a print of the wheat field.

    And the last one makes me want to go. Really bad. I hope we go to the shire sometime.

  2. Erin says:

    The wheat field picture is my favorite as well!

  3. whitney says:

    I love all of these, and I love that I’m not the only one trying to not hate the fact that we’re not adventuring in England again, right now.

Leave a Reply

